Photo Editing Tutorial : HOW TO MAKE SUNSET PICTURES SUPAR CHIO LIKE THOSE IN FINAL FANTASY GAMES.

April 21, 2011 § Leave a comment

Harros! 8D Before I talk bout why I’ve been away for so long in a next post, I’ll like to ~*~present~*~ a new tutorial on how to edit sunset pictures since for some odd reason, it’s always a MUST-SHOOT THING for new photographers!

(Image lifted from image2u.com) Your typical composition of a Sunset! Hahahaha with the horizon breaking the mid-of it and the sun ~blazing romantically like 2 lover’s hearts~ in the background.

It’s pretty ok in terms of exposure/composition but I don’t like how the colours look “diluted” and, there’s not much contrast between the light/dark portions of the picture. HAHAHAHAHAHA SO PRETENTIOUS.

As usual, open it up on photoshop~ /redundant.

As usual, Image > Adjustments! Sorry bout the horrible picture compression! ): WordPress’s image quality = HORRIBLE LIKE GARY OAK’S POKEMON LINEUP.

Just to note, I generally don’t like to work in layers because when I face basic photo-editing like this, (I can edit a sunset photo in 3mins or less LOL), I don’t see much difficulty! :D

First thing I do = Curves! Because the minute you adjust it, it’ll INSTANTLY MAKE THE SUNSET LOOK SO MUCH BETTER. It’ll up the contrast, boost the colours and generally make the photo look better.

As shown in the photo above, aim for a steep S-curve so that you’ll get a huge contrast between the light/dark portions of the picture.

I edit Levels next because you get to control how much “light” or “dark” there is in the picture. If you notice, there are 3 boxes in the Levels section!

The left one = Controls the “dark” and the right = Controls the “light”. Slide them around until you get your decided contrast! :D

Colour Balance is next! Whenever I edit sunsets, I always go for Red, Magenta and Blue! The Red/Magenta helps to warm up the picture whilst the Blue balances out the colours so that you don’t get something TOO RAD LIKE BEEGENEEEEEZZZ. (Ok wtf sorry, couldn’t help myself.)

Finally, I go to Vibrance to adjust the Vibrance/Saturation. Vibrance enhances your colours to make them prettier whereas Saturation makes them stronger. I generally boost more on my Vibrance rather than Saturation because too much makes your photo look gross. ):

And here we are! :D Finished product! HAHAHAHAHA CHIO ANOT!!! Can imagine some emo-sunset song playing in the background and a group of people hugging+crying+slitting their wrists or something HAHAHAHAHA.

Good luck ya’ll! <3

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Photo Editing Tutorial : HOW TO MAKE SUNSET PICTURES SUPAR CHIO LIKE THOSE IN FINAL FANTASY GAMES. at MINDLESS RANTING, OCCASIONAL ANGSTING..

meta

