HOW TO SHRED A T-SHIRT : FOR PEOPLE LIKE ME WHO CAN’T AFFORD 600USD FOR A BRANDED ONE.

October 4, 2010 § 8 Comments

Hello there everybody! :3/ Anyways, I know that I usually blog bout my life and whatever fucking nonsense but since my holidays equate to bumming around the house and eating a shitload of food + sleeping till the afternoon, I thought that I’d do a USEFUL BLOGPOST HAHAHAHA.

S’was looking through fashion sites that day and I came across this!

A “Raquel Allegra” shredded t-shirt which costs…

BLOODY FUCKING 644USD/901.60SGD WTFUCKMAX. How to bloody afford?! ):

So, I decided to take inspiration from various fashion blogs I went through (Eg: Childhood Flames.) AND BAM AFTER 1 WEEK OF EXPERIMENTING (And wasting a shitload of tshirts wtf.), I HAVE DECIDED TO POST A TUTORIAAAAAAL TO HELP EVERYBODYYYY. It’s really really easy! Easy to the point I think even my retarded 6 year old cousin can do it! :D

Finished product after 2 weeks of shredding it like an insane dog on buses/mrt! HAHAHAHA. ATTRACTED STRANGE STARES BUT FUCK THAT. It’s nowhere as chio as let’s say, a Maison Margiela shirt but urh, YOU CAN BE A SPESHUL SNOWFLAKE~

 

What you need :

1) A plain t-shirt that you don’t want anymore. Note, use a lousier quality one cause it’s easier to shred. (The seams are looser!) And the shirt is smiling cause it’s finally seeing the light of the day after being trapped in my wardrobe for 950483983983 years. -_-

2) A pair of scissors. Incidentally, the one I’m using is used to cut meat LOLWTF. Despo mah!

3) LOTS OF TIME. I CAN NOT FUCKING STRESS THIS ENOUGH. So it’s best to do this whilst decomposing in front of the TV, or better yet, get minions friends to help you out! :D

4) A BLOODY GOOD SOUNDTRACK. Cause doing this in the silent dark of the night at 1am can drive you insane. ): I recommend Bee Gees or ACDC. 8DDD

5) The patience level of Mother Teresa or Ghandi cause IT’LL TAKE YOU A DAMN LONG TIME.

 

1st Step : Cut along the hem of the shirt! You can be neat if you have OCD but other than that, you can just anyhow whack cause we’re deconstructing it anyways! :333

Snip Snip Snip~

Step 2 : Decide how big a panel of shredding you want! The larger the panel, the bigger the “cobweb” effect! And my fingers are in a twist to show the panel size I wanna shred, not because I wanna induce a “kawaii~neh~” effect in my photo!

Step 3 : Give the panel a good stretching with your fingers(LOL) to loosen up the threads. And then, start picking at the bottom of the shirt to pull out threads. IT DOESN’T MATTER IF THEY BREAK! Just keep pulling and pulling!

Step 4: At this point, as if by *~*magic*~*, more threads will be loosened and you can start screaming FUCKYEAH I DID IT in joy! :D

Step 5 : After pulling out a few more threads, you’d start to see a cobweb effect more clearly! Tug at both sections of the thread and watch it unravel to form a chiotastic shirt YOU CAN’T BUY IN SINGAPORE CAUSE EVERYBODY’S WEARING THE SAME SHIT WTF!

Step 6 : WOOHOOOOOO, you’ll now have a panel of shredding! :D Keep tugging till you reach a section you’re happy with!

Note, your shredding might become narrower at the top because it’s a 99% chance you didn’t tug at the strings properly. Find the section that’s still “tight” and loosen it before going back to widen the narrow section! Use a pencil/seam picker because chances are, the section will be “intensely tight”.

Step 7: Rinse and Repeat till you’re satisfied with it!

 

WOOHOOO MY FINAL PRODUCT AFTER DUNNO-HOW-MANY-FUCKING-HOURS OF SLAVING AWAY AT IT. I didn’t wanna shred the whole shirt cause I prefer having a bottom-heavy section cause it doesn’t make my bulging stomach obvous! 8DDD

Close-up details on the shredding! You can actually do different panel sizes to create dimension in your shirt! :D

And if you are feeling sadistic towards your eye sight and wanna cause it to go worse, YOU CAN SHRED THE BACK TOO. I created a giant panel at the back! 8D

And here you go! :D A tutorial on how to shred your shirt without starving to death for 3 months to save for an expensive one! Hope ya’ll enjoy! <333 BRING ON THE DIY LOVE.

 

§ 8 Responses to HOW TO SHRED A T-SHIRT : FOR PEOPLE LIKE ME WHO CAN’T AFFORD 600USD FOR A BRANDED ONE.

  • GonnaShredd says:

    LOVED THIS POST!

    Thanks very much – now with Cheetohs, oreos and Dr Pepper handy, I’ll be up till the wee hours shredding my own!
    <3 x

    • bryangohey says:

      Hello there! :D

      Thanks for digging this post AND FUCKYEAH!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHA JUNK FOOD + SPENDING 9438983938 HOURS SHREDDING = THE BOMB! Do link me up to your blog if you ever decide to post it!

      WE ARE FASHIONISTAS HAHAHAHAHAHA.

  • diego says:

    Thank you so much! This is a wonderful tutorial and thank you for taking the time to do this, not many people do (or at least do any GOOD ones -_-) take care~ <3

  • caro says:

    LOVVVVVEEEEEE this blog!! thank you thank you thank you for spending sssoooooo many hours slaving away and showing us “tards” how to do it!! <3 the shirt!!

  • imbibescribe says:

    oh thank you. so grateful for this post so I didn’t waste money on what i can clearly do myself.

  • Heidi T. says:

    I really wanna do this to one of my old shirts for fun but I don’t think I’ll have enough time to shred it in time for this Saturday, when I plan to actually wear it for a performance. Boo. :( How long did this take you exactly?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading HOW TO SHRED A T-SHIRT : FOR PEOPLE LIKE ME WHO CAN’T AFFORD 600USD FOR A BRANDED ONE. at MINDLESS RANTING, OCCASIONAL ANGSTING..

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

